AAP’s Shelly Oberoi wins mayoral polls; Aaley Mohammed Iqbal becomes Deputy Mayor

    Delhi MCD Mayor Election Live Updates: AAP’s Aaley Mohammad Iqbal was elected as the Deputy Mayor; election for six members of the Standing Committee is underway.

    Delhi mcd elections, delhi mayorAAP’s Shelly Oberoi (Left) wins Delhi MCD Mayoral polls, and Aaley Mohammed Iqbal (Right) become Deputy Mayor (Express Photo/ Praveen Khanna)

    Delhi Mayoral Election Live Updates: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)’s Shelly Oberoi was elected as the Mayor of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). She won the election, which was held during the MCD House meeting, with 150 votes, against 116 for BJP’s Rekha Gupta. Congratulating Oberoi on her win, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal said, “people of Delhi won and hooliganism has been defeated.”

    Addressing the MCD House for the first time, Oberoi thanked Kejriwal, Deputy CM Manish Sisodia, and the Lieutenant Governor, and said that she will follow the rules of the DMC Act and will run the MCD as per the rules and regulations. “We will all work together to fulfil the dreams of the people of Delhi,” she added.

    After the results were declared, Oberoi took over from presiding officer, BJP’s Satya Sharma. AAP’s Aaley Mohammad Iqbal was elected as the Deputy Mayor, after he won with 147 votes, out of the total 266 votes cast. Two votes were declared invalid.

    Live Blog

    MCD Elections News Live Updates: AAP’s Shelly Oberoi becomes Delhi’s Mayor; Kejriwal says ‘people of Delhi won, hooliganism lost’; Aaley Mohammed Iqbal is deputy Mayor; Follow updates here.

    BJP councillors sloganeering inside the MCD house in Delhi, before the elections for posts like the Mayor got adjourned till next date, on Feb. 6, Monday. (Express Photo by Praveen Khanna)

    Satya Sharma, the Presiding Officer for the mayoral election in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), said on February 6 that aldermen — who are nominated members — are allowed to vote in the House and elect the Mayor, Deputy Mayor, and members of the Standing Committee as per the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957. The Supreme Court, on Friday, held that they cannot.

    Sharma, a BJP councillor who was in January nominated as Presiding Officer by Lieutenant Governor Vinai Kumar Saxena, also proposed that voting for all three elections should be held simultaneously. The SC has now held that this cannot be the case and that the Mayor should be elected first who will then preside over the election of the deputy mayor and standing committee members.

    While protesting the swearing-in of aldermen ahead of elected councillors, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had expressed the apprehension that this was being done to provide aldermen with voting rights, which they do not have under the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957. This apprehension had come true but has now been effectively struck down.

    Also Read:

    • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.

    First published on: 22-02-2023 at 09:25 IST

    Source link

    Latest articles


    Related articles