BCCI’s prize money for ICC titles: How much MS Dhoni’s teams received in comparison to Rs 125 crore for Rohit Sharma’s team | Cricket News

    NEW DELHI: The Indian cricket team triumphed in the T20 World Cup 2024, securing a victory against South Africa in the final, which ended an 11-year wait for an ICC title since the 2013 Champions Trophy.
    To celebrate this achievement, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a reward of Rs 125 crore for the entire 42-member contingent.

    This reward marks a significant increase compared to the prize money awarded for India’s previous ICC titles under MS Dhoni’s leadership.

    • For their win in the 2007 ICC World T20, the team received a cumulative sum of Rs 12 crore.
    • In the 2011 ODI World Cup, the BCCI initially announced a prize of Rs 1 crore for each player, later revised to Rs 2 crore. The support staff received Rs 50 lakh each, and the selectors were given Rs 25 lakh each.
    • In the 2013 Champions Trophy, each player was awarded Rs 1 crore, while the support staff earned Rs 30 lakh each.

    In contrast, as per reports the BCCI’s reward for the 2024 T20 World Cup includes:

    • Rs 5 crore for each of the 15 squad members, including those who did not play a single game.
    • The four reserve players will receive Rs 2.5 crore each.
    • Head coach Rahul Dravid will be awarded Rs 5 crore, matching the main team players’ prize.
    • Each member of the coaching staff will receive Rs 1 crore.

    In addition, the backroom staff, including physios, throwdown specialists, and other personnel, will earn Rs 2 crore each. Each selector will be awarded Rs 1 crore.
    This substantial reward not only underscores the BCCI’s appreciation for the team’s hard work but also sets a new benchmark for future achievements.
    This reward highlights the significance of the win and the board’s commitment to supporting and incentivizing the players and support staff.

    Source link

    Latest articles


    Related articles