Keir Starmer’s cabinet list: Who’s who in new UK government? | World News

    Labour leader Keir Starmer officially became the prime minister of Britain on Friday, following his party’s landslide victory in the general elections after being in opposition for over a decade.

    Keir Starmer, UK prime minister, delivers the first speech of his premiership, following the general election, outside 10 Downing Street in London, UK, on Friday, July 5, 2024. (Hollie Adams/Bloomberg)

    Starmer assumed the role of the nation’s leader after a private ceremony at Buckingham Palace with King Charles III. He then announced his new team. Take a look:

    Keir Starmer cabinet | List

    Your wishes helped India win- Relive India’s epic journey in the T20 World Cup. Click here

    Angela Rayner: Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities; Deputy prime minister

    Rachel Reeves: Chancellor of the Exchequer

    ALSO READ- Who is Rachel Reeves, UK’s first female Chancellor of Exchequer?

    Pat McFadden: Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

    David Lammy: Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs

    ALSO READ- What will be the future of India-UK FTA under Keir Starmer as British PM?

    Yvette Cooper: Secretary of State for the Home Department

    John Healey: Secretary of State for Defence

    Shabana Mahmood: Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice

    Wes Streeting: Secretary of State for Health and Social Care

    Bridget Phillipson: Secretary of State for Education

    ALSO READ- British election: Kerala-born mental health nurse among Labour Party winners

    Ed Miliband: Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero

    Liz Kendall: Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

    Jonathan Reynolds: Secretary of State for Business and Trade; President of the Board of Trade

    Peter Kyle: Secretary of State for Science, Innovation and Technology

    Louise Haigh: Secretary of State for Transport

    ALSO READ- UK polls: PM Modi congratulates Keir Starmer on Labour’s ‘remarkable’ win

    Steve Reed: Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

    Lisa Nandy: Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport

    Hilary Benn: Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

    Ian Murray: Secretary of State for Scotland

    Jo Stevens: Secretary of State for Wales

    Lucy Powell: Lord President of the Council, and Leader of the House of Commons

    UK elections 2024 results

    The Labour Party won 403 seats, while Sunak’s conservative Party won just 109 in the 650-member House of Commons.

    Get Current Updates on World News, US News , Hollywood News , Anime and Top Headlines from around the world.

    Source link

    Latest articles


    Related articles