Disney+ Reveals New MCU Timeline Order With Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

    In celebration of its Disney+ premiere, it was revealed that Black Panther: Wakanda Forever has an unexpected placement in the MCU’s timeline. 

    Black Panther 2 served as the culmination of the MCU’s Phase 4. The sequel paid tribute to the late Chadwick Boseman while also moving the story forward by introducing Shuri as the next Black Panther. 

    In the weeks leading to the sequel, one of the main subjects of discussion from fans is the movie’s place in the shared universe’s timeline. Given that Marvel confirmed that T’Challa is dead in the sequel, many fans have wondered if his demise is connected to Thanos’ snap, but the movie disproved it, which led to even more speculation. 

    Now, Disney+ cleared the confusion. 

    When Does Black Panther 2 Take Place?

    Per Disney+, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever takes place between Moon Knight and She-Hulk: Attorney at Law, serving as the 39th entry of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) timeline. 

    The full list of MCU projects in timeline order can be seen below: 

    1. Captain America: The First Avenger
    2. Captain Marvel
    3. Iron Man
    4. Iron Man 2
    5. The Incredible Hulk
    6. Thor
    7. The Avengers
    8. Thor: The Dark World
    9. Iron Man 3
    10. Captain America: The First Avenger
    11. Guardians of the Galaxy
    12. I Am Groot: Groot’s First Steps
    13. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
    14. I Am Groot: The Little Guy
    15. I Am Groot: Groot’s Pursuit
    16. I Am Groot: Groot Takes a Bath
    17. I Am Groot: Magnum Opus
    18. Avengers: Age of Ultron
    19. Ant-Man
    20. Captain America: Civil War
    21. Black Widow
    22. Black Panther
    23. Spider-Man: Homecoming
    24. Doctor Strange
    25. Thor: Ragnarok
    26. Ant-Man and the Wasp
    27. Avengers: Infinity War
    28. Avengers: Endgame
    29. Loki
    30. What If…?
    31. WandaVision
    32. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier
    33. Spider-Man: Far From Home
    34. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
    35. Eternals
    36. Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
    37. Hawkeye
    38. Moon Knight
    39. Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
    40. She-Hulk
    41. Ms. Marvel
    42. Thor: Love and Thunder
    43. Werewolf by Night
    44. The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special

    The full graphic of the MCU timeline can also be seen below:


    This placement lines up with the past comments of Marvel Studios producer Nate Moore about Black Panther: Wakanda Forever‘s timeline placement

    While saying that he can’t pinpoint the exact year, the producer revealed that Wakanda Forever “clearly happens after [Spider-Man: No Way Home] and Eternals,” with Moore saying that it “probably” happens “concurrent” with Thor: Love and Thunder and “almost concurrent” with Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania

    CinemaBlend: “So what do you say between the movies then?”

    Moore: “Yeah I mean, look if you think about… This movie clearly happens after No Way Home and Eternals. I think it probably happens potentially concurrent with [Thor: Love and Thunder]. New Asgard does exist in our universe, for instance, or in our film. And almost concurrent with Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania, which is coming out in February.”

    What Happened to the MCU During Black Panther 2?

    Black Panther: Wakanda Forever‘s place in the MCU timeline means many significant events are concurrently happening in the wider universe aside from Wakanda and Talokan’s war. 

    Given that it’s in between Moon Knight and She-Hulk, it’s possible that some parts of Black Panther 2 took place during the eventful clash of Khonshu and Tiamut in the Oscar Isaac-led series. 

    It’s also likely that some of Wakanda Forever took place during Jennifer Walters’ transformation into She-Hulk. 

    Nate Moore’s comments indicate that Black Panther: Wakanda Forever happens “concurrent” with Thor: Love and Thunder, meaning that Jane Foster’s transformation into Mighty Thor is potentially taking place during Namor’s attack in Wakanda as well. 

    Hopefully, more interesting connections to other projects will be established as the MCU enters Phase 5. 

    Black Panther: Wakanda Forever is now streaming on Disney+.

    Source link

    Latest articles


    Related articles

    Leave a reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here